top of page

Quest to find the best 'Chai Latte' in Sydney; 'Flynns'

Located in beautiful Avalon beach, Flynn's is a quirky little cafe serving a variety of food and drinks, including alcohol.

Staff

We ordered at the front register to a woman who was polite without being overly nice. In conjunction to our chai latte, we ordered lunch as well. The staff provided the entertainment for this quaint and quiet area. First, we saw the chef do a sneaky run to the local Woollies for items he was low on. (Turned out to be our chips). Then the cafe started to get quite busy. Random people were jumping in and taking out coffees and assisting the woman. It seems like a very close-knit community. Either that or everyone works there and is hanging around on their days off.

Rating out of 10: 7

How as my chai?

My chai latte arrived and I was soooooooo excited. Wow. And not wow in a good way. Wow in "oh wow this is the worst chai I have had in my entire 22 years of existence". I don't even know where to start. There was a measly 1cm of froth, which led to the chai being sloppy. Secondly, it was lukewarm. Thirdly, the taste was disgustingly bitter. It honestly tasted like there was pepper in the mix.

Three of us ordered the chai, and unfortunately, we all came to the same conclusion. It was not nice at all. I left most of it behind, refusing to force myself to drink down my sorry excuse for a 'chai latte'.

The food was actually outstanding. I ordered a bacon and egg roll and it was quite divine. Everyone I went with was quite happy with their food as well. We agreed that the odd chef who ran from table to kitchen was good.

Rating out of 10: 1

Price & value for money

The food was reasonably priced, with my huge bacon and egg roll only costing $9. My 'chai latte' cost $5.10 as I ordered soy. Overall I think the prices were okay, considering it was a beachy area.

Rating out of 10: 8

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page