top of page

'The Tea Cosy'. Worth the wait?

The Tea Cosy is located in The Rocks, Sydney. It proved to be a popular establishment! The queue to be seated spilt out onto the footpath. We had to wait roughly 20 minutes for a table as we hadn't made a booking. This didn't bother me as I was fascinated by the artworks on the wall and the interesting Victorian decor.

A short walk from Circular Quay Station and we were in the beautiful rocks area of Sydney. I went on a Sunday afternoon and 'The Rocks Markets' was in full swing. The location was great as we had a wander through the quirky markets after our meal.

Food & Drink

I ordered the 'Ploughman's Lunch' which included cheese scones, ham, salami, cheddar and stilton cheese, dates, celery, apple and a boiled egg. My meal was also served with a delicious chutney and butter. While it was an odd array of single items, they worked well together. I thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful of my meal. I also ordered a Chai Latte with my meal. It was delicious with perfectly textured milk.

Rating out of 10: 9

Staff

The staff were polite as they rushed around, accommodating their full and bustling cafe. They were never rude, even when they were asked how long the wait would be more times than I could count. The woman who took my order was lovely, helpful and a great asset to their team. The serving staff were also good. Despite the never ending line, we were never made to feel that we had to rush our meals.

Rating out of 10: 8

Venue

'The Tea Cosy' is located in a historical 1870's heritage-listed building. The owners are Irish-Australian and it shows with the decor. The walls were covered with beautiful images of the evergreen Ireland and I enjoyed the quirky style of the venue. Each table had a bowl of yarn and needles for knitting lovers. Every pot of tea had its own unique tea cosy that was handmade.

Rating out of 10: 8

Price & value for money

I paid $22.50 for my meal and it was a price I was happy to pay. I enjoyed every bite and sip of my meal. The fun decor and lovely staff added to the overall perfect experience.

Rating out of 10: 9

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page