top of page

Contiki. Is The Hype Justified?

Contiki is a New Zealand travel company that is popular for New Zealanders and Australians. It operates throughout most countries of the world, offering a variety of tours for those ages 18-35. This review is based on the Winter Wanderer, New Year in Amsterdam and Great Britain & Scotland tours. (2016-17). All tours were hotel accommodation.

'Winter Wanderer' visited London, Paris, Lucerne, Lyon , Barcelona, French Riviera, Monaco, Pisa, Florence, Rome, Vatican City, Venice, Vienna, Munich, Prague, Berlin, Amsterdam.

'Great Britain & Scotland' visited London, Liverpool, York, Lake District, Gretna Green, Hadrian's Wall, Edinburgh, Scottish Highlands, Stirling, Glasgow, Dublin, Kilkenny, Cork, Blarney, Cliffs of Moher, Galway, Londonderry, Giant's Causeway and Belfast.

This was my first time overseas on my own. I strongly recommend solo travel at least once. I felt independent, strong, free and capable. Did I feel lonely? Not really. I was by myself on all flights and before my first tour started. I met people on all tours who I'm still in contact with now. It is true that you make friends for life. It's amazing to think that I have friends in America, South Africa, Brazil and other states in Australia now. Don't let the prospect of solo travel stop you from doing the things you want to do. I held this trip off for over a year because I wanted to go with a friend. At the end of the day, you are the most reliable person in your life. Why bother waiting around for someone else?

Accommodation

The accommodation overall was good. All hotels were in good location, were clean and comfortable. In Europe, the accommodation was more basic, smaller and sometimes had showers that didn't work properly. I found the hotels in the United Kingdom to be of a higher standard and were my preferred accommodation. Most hotels provided free wifi and throughout the entire period, only three did not.

Rating out of 10: 7

me-time optionals

Most of the me-time optionals were fun, interesting and worthwhile activities. The cabaret show at Moulin Rogue was definitely worth doing as was the schnapps tasting in Vienna. It depends on the person and what they are interested in. I personally had little interest in the Mozart and Strauss Concert. I instead spent the night roaming around the picture-perfect Christmas markets and snacking on Viennese foods.

Rating out of 10: 8

Included meals

I found the included meals to be hit and miss. Either they were really good or they were not very nice. In saying that all meals were definitely edible. The most disappointing meal was in Paris. A deep fried pork patty with fried tomato for dinner and a grapefruit fruit salad for dessert. The pizza in Italy was also sadly not exceptional. There is the opportunity to try haggis in Scotland. I personally didn't think it was anything amazing. It tastes similar to minced beef, but was still worth the experience.

Rating out of 10: 8

free time

There is more free time than anyone could possibly need. Each day typically starts with included activities. For example; Day 2 in Paris. We as a group had breakfast and then made our way to the Eiffel Tower to go up and see Paris from high above. After we finished, we were allowed free time for the rest of the day. In some cities you may not receive as much free time, however it is usually sufficient to do what you need to do.

Rating out of 10: 9

transport

The brightly coloured coach became our home away from home. With plenty of room, an onboard toilet, charging station and televisions to watch movies. All coach drivers I came across were world class. I was always in awe at how they were able to get around impossibly tight corners or squeeze through tiny alleys. My only complaint would be the long drives where we would be on the coach for 6 + hours. It can be more draining to be sitting doing nothing than walking around all day.

Rating out of 10: 9

Overall I thoroughly enjoy my experiences with Contiki. It was easier than my previous trips where I was with family and not on an organised tour. It is such a good opporutnity to meet new people and do things for the first time.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page